Leaving for Factor e Farm, car diagnosis and fix

This last week, I’ve been preparing to go to the farm. The main thing that’s holding me back is getting my cars fixed up, as I’m driving out there. I’ll be driving my sebring, but want my mercedes to be driveable as well. I’ll use my mercedes if I fly home to visit for holidays.

My main vehicle is a 2000 Chrysler Sebring convertible, and that’s what I’m driving to missouri. I needed to fix an oil leak, and my neutral safety switch.

Oil leak was easy, but the neutral safety switch has me pulling out my hair!! Every time I work on my Sebring, my hatred for chrysler grows.

Heres the problem with my NSS (Neutral safety switch) : Every now and then, when my car is hot and I try to start it, it won’t start. To get it to start, I need to jiggle the shifter between park and neutral with the starter engaged. Sometimes it starts as soon as i shift it, and sometimes it takes 25 minutes. It always starts eventually, even if it means me walking away for a half an hour until the car cools down more.

Since needing to jiggle shifter is a classic sign of mal-adjusted NSS, I figure this is it. However, it could just as easily be some wire that is shorting somewhere. Since the problem only happens when the car is hot, it must be something which is effected by heat (or just about everything).

For a long time I couldn’t find my NSS; most vehicles have the NSS on the outside of the transmission, so it can be removed with a couple bolts. However, for my car, it is inside the transmission. But nowhere online does it say it’s location. I had to purchase the part, and look for the correct electrical connection to find it. Even this proved difficult, as the tranny is 1 yr older than the vehicle, so I ended up getting the wrong part– twice– before I realized this.

The NSS is inside the tranny, and to access it, you have to open up the pan (which has no drain plut), and open up the valve body.

To do all of that would cost roughly $150: tranny fluid + filter ~$50, NSS~ $45, Tranny gasket kit ~$55. It would involve opening up the guts of the tranny.

Given the expense, the chance of messing something up, and the chance the replacing the NSS wouldn’t solve the problem, I decided to bypass the NSS instead, saving me $100.

The problem with bypassing it, is that you could start your car in any gear, meaning if you were parked, you could accidentally run into or over things. However, paying careful attention to which gear the car is in when you start it will remedy this.

I’ve found a couple sites that tell me which wire I need to ground. Now I just need to figure which one is ground. I’ll figure this by testing with some leads.

Leave a Reply

