Removing the slitted material

After the slits were made, I had to mag-drill some material away to remove the sections I cut.

For each blade, first I used a combo square to mark how far the cuts went in. Since the blade has a big radius, it won’t cut all the way into the corners. Here’s a vid explaining that:

To remove material from the flat blade, first I drilled a large (1.75″ DIA) hole at each side of the mount. Then I pried away the material in the middle. After that, I mag-drilled a series of smaller holes and used a cut-off blade to remove the remaining material that I could. When I’d removed all I could that way, I milled away the remaining material.

Here’s a video series explaining how I did it.



For the angle mount, it was a similar process.

Leave a Reply

