2/12/12

Slacked off a bit on updating, but hey, it’s the weekend! I HAD to go flying and to a fancy picnic. =)

Anyways, progress has been kinda slow- its not that I was working slowly, it’s that I’m terrible at estimating time. I had a short day Friday as well: ~6 hours.

I’m still working on the 2.5″ pins. Friday, I finished off machining by drilling and tapping the hole thru the center of the pin for the grease fitting. I also drilled the holes which will distribute the grease to the outside of the pins.

The Sharpie you see on the pins is the path I’m going to grind down for the grease to travel through around the pin. It needs to be distributed about the pins’ entire length, to insure it won’t bind with any of the bushings, and that the entire length of the pin will be receiving grease.. I’m debating changing the pattern, as the grease usually can distribute ~1/2″ to 3/4″ away from grease channel, so my channels might be a bit excessive. I also need to make by-passes between the spirals channels in case one channel gets clogged. Designing these channels is a little challenging, as the pin will likely only be rotated about the 15 degrees that the arm rotates at, so more channels are necessary than a fully rotating pin.

Next week, I plan on finishing up the pins as soon as I can get the threaded rod for them. I decided to change it from 1″ course TR to the 1.5″ fine TR. The piranha uses 1.5″, so there must be a good reason for it. I figured the fine thread makes the nut less likely to slip. The 1.5″ will have more holding power at the outside of the pin.

I also started keeping logs in another Google Doc. One for materials purchases, one for materials usage from Enniss, one for time it takes to do each task. The task log will be particularly useful, as it will allow more accurate time estimation for each task. Haven’t filled anything out yet besides purchases.

I received the check yesterday for materials, so no more money hold up.

Here’s a pic for the progress for the week. I received the Half-moons and the blade bushing friday as well. I also purchased the grease fittings from Grainger.

Leave a Reply

